Reeling them in…

My EU story about fishing and Cornwall has been put aside slightly in favour of the television piece, because I knew that would be more work to edit and find images for. But yesterday, while popping into Arwenack Fisheries for some fish-related sounds, I spoke to one of the owners and ended up doing an interview. When in Rome…

This is Peter Brook, co-owner of Arwenack Fisheries, with the morning’s catch.

IMAG1898

Then I went to Penzance to Penwith College for an interview with Laurence Hartwell, a self-confessed fish lover. I had planned a few questions for him about the EU and fishing in Cornwall and from his regularly updated blog, I could see I had an expert.

IMAG1897

An ex-fisherman who lives in the ultimate fishing community of Newlyn, I spent two hours chatting with Laurence and looking at his beautiful photos of his time at sea.

Leave a comment